none
Adding wireless router to SBS server

Question

• We currently have a SBS 2003 network.  The Server has the usual 2 NICs, the external one connecting to an ADSL line via a modem router.

I want to add wireless connectivity to a: allow printing from the network to a wireless printer & b: to provide wireless internet access for visitors.

Our ISP has provided us with a 'Business Hub' (actually a 2Wire Gateway) so I was planning to replace the current router with this but not being a network expert I'm thinking that the new hub would presumably have to be running DHCP for wireless connections and wondering how that would play with the SBS server.  Also how do I configure the SBS server so PCs connected to the network see the wireless printer connected to the hub's wireless network?

Many thanks

Jon Lewis

Tuesday, February 21, 2012 6:57 PM

Answers

• The problem is now solved.  For anyone interested you have to add a rule to the ISA Firewall allowing all traffic to the printer on the other subnet from Local Host and the Internal network (fairly obviously).  Then you have to rack your brains for several days trying to figure out why ISA is still blocking communication to the printer until by chance you see an old forum post that says rerun the CEICW.  This is after ISA has indicated to you that the new rule has been applied, but clearly it hasn't.  WTF?  

Jon Lewis

• Marked as answer by jon1854 Thursday, March 01, 2012 2:55 PM
    Thursday, March 01, 2012 2:54 PM

All replies

• Spend ~$75 USD and buy a NETGEAR WN604-100NAS.  This is a Stand alone access point, and you can just plug it into your network, with no topology changes.  DHCP and everything else can just stay the same, and you will not have to make any changes. 

If you are opposed to the Netgear, Linksys and and many others have Access Points for less than $100 USD.  Just make sure you get an AP, NOT a router. 

Jeremy

Tuesday, February 21, 2012 8:55 PM