none
Get a table to automatically Increment

Question

• First of all forgive for my non-technical background i am fairly new to SSRS and everything i have learnt so far is from forums.

I have a created a SQL query which takes information with regards to various parts of a journey, orders them by date and then assigns a sequence number, like below:

From the table you can see that some columns are not relevant to the part of the journey taking place.

So my SSRS issue is...

I'd like the sequence to remain as it is however have 5 seperate tables, only showing their relevant columns.

My current work around is having 5 seperate tables, I then filter to sequence no. =1 , 2, 3 , 4, 5 etc. I then use the column visibity function to say that if the column value is N/A or Null then hide the column.

The problem with this work around is that there can be up to 10+ legs to a journey, so my question is...

Is there a way to have one table which can then look at the sequence number and create 5 different tables each with their own relevant columns?

Tuesday, November 26, 2013 9:12 AM

Answers

• Hi GMACH-10,

If I understand correctly, it seems that you want to divide one table into several individual tables based on the sequence in Reporting Services. And the separated tables should only show their relevant columns without NULL and N/A column. After testing it in my local environment, we can drag the table into a list to separate the table, and then use lookup function to control the column visibility. For more details, please see:

1. Drag a list to the design surface, drag the table into the list.
    2. Right-click the list to open Tablix Properties dialog box, select the current dataset in the drop-down list.
    3. Click the list, Right-click the (Details) group to open the Group Properties dialog box, add a group grouped by the [Sequence].
    4. Using the expression below to control the Column Visibility of Arrival_Date column: