none
WMI data reader task with C#

Question

• Hi Guys,

Basically I am a dba, I am completely new to SSIS...and know basics about c#, I've got a requirement to collect information about sql services on mulitple database servers and other information.

I wrote the code in C# using WMI code generator and it is in a .txt file.

Now I m using WMI data reader task in ssis, to loop through multiple servers to collect the information using foreach. Here I got a problem that i need to input the server name in each ADO enumerator to C# code..

could you please help me how to pass the server name to my code..

• Moved by Bob BeaucheminMVP Monday, December 02, 2013 11:59 PM Moved to a more relevent forum
    Monday, December 02, 2013 10:23 AM

Answers

All replies

• Hi,

Please check below link. it will help you.

http://agilebi.com/jwelch/2007/09/05/using-the-wmi-data-reader-in-ssis/

indu

Monday, December 02, 2013 10:44 AM
  • Hi Indu,

Thanks for your reply, but my requirement is I got my custom code in C# to fetch the results.. I cant use direct input in WMI data reader task..but all i need to supply to the code is the server name..

Kiran.

Monday, December 02, 2013 11:45 AM
  • You can use a Script component source containing your C# code in a Data Flow Task.  Add the desired output columns in the Script component source designer.  In the script, override the PreExecute, PostExecute and CreateNewOutputRows methods with your WMI reader implementation.  See http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms136060.aspx for an script source example.

To pass the server name, assign the server name to a Foreach Loop container SSIS variable with your Data Flow task inside.  The script can then retrieve the server name from the variable.

Dan Guzman, SQL Server MVP, http://www.dbdelta.com

Monday, December 02, 2013 12:26 PM
  • Hi Kir4n,