none
Replacing dead SBS 2003 with 2008 R2 (using same domain name)

Question

• I had a customer who used a SBS 2003 for the longest time in the world until it died last week.  I'll be putting in a new server this weekend that will have Windows 2008 R2 on it.

My question is:  before their SBS 2003 died off, their domain name was called "adams"

What issues do you think I'll run up against on the desktops - IF I use the same domain name on the new server - while every desktop still thinks it is part of the "adams" domain?  I've never tried this before (old AD server dies off, never remove client computers from dead domain, and pop in a new server w/the same domain name), but I can't think of any issues.  As long as I have all the user accounts correct (and their passwords).

What do you think?  Any technical issues I should be looking out for?  Unforeseen issues I could stumble upon?

Thanks

Friday, July 26, 2013 4:58 AM

Answers

• Hello,

if that broken SBS was the ONLY DC in the domain and there is no backup available you are lost. Even using the smae domain name will NOT give existing machines/users access to a new installed domain with the same name.

The domain SID(security identifier) will be different.

All user accounts, OU, structure, GPOs etc. MUST be created new and user have to use the NEW user account to logon to there machines. This will create a new local profile and they have by default NO access to the old profile anymore.

ONLY the local administrator can access this and should be able to copy, either the important data or the profile, to the new created profile after the user has logged in once via system properties, advanced, user profiles(settings button).

Best regards

Meinolf Weber
    MVP, MCP, MCTS
    Microsoft MVP - Directory Services
    My Blog: http://msmvps.com/blogs/mweber/

Disclaimer: This posting is provided AS IS with no warranties or guarantees and confers no rights.

Friday, July 26, 2013 7:01 AM

All replies

• Hello,