none
Direct Access has no internet access

Question

• Hi all,

Hopefully some can help me with this issue that I have been struggling with for about a week now.

I'm new to Direct Access so please bear with me

I've setup a Server 2012 box and installed the Direct Access role.  The server is behind en edge device with 1 NIC.

I've configured it and can connect up Windows 8.1 tablets successfully, both on the internal network and when connected externally.

The problem I have is with internet access when they are connected externally and I've tried with Force Tunneling enabled and disabled (ideally for security reasons I'd like it enabled).

We use a proxy server configured with a wpad file hosted on Server 2003.  This is published via DNS.

Internet Explorer is configured to Auto Detect Internet Settings

I can connect to any of our internally hosted websites, and also strangely enough, our main publically accessible web site.

If I don't have Force Tunneling enabled then I get the following behavior

• I can't use Internet Explorer to connect to any public websites though (google.com, yellowpages.com, etc).
    • I can connect to any website that has the same domain suffix as our domain
    • I can use Firefox and connect to external websites if I say 'Direct Connection to Internet' or 'Use System Settings'

If I use Force Tunneling then I get the following behavior:

• The network connection says it is 'limited' and the Direct Access connection says it has 'No Internet Access'
    • I can't use Internet Explorer to connect to any public websites though (google.com, yellowpages.com, etc).
    • I can connect to any website that has the same domain suffix as our domain
    • I can't use Firefox and connect to external websites

Does anyone know why this would be the case?

Thanks

• Edited by Chris2352 Thursday, May 15, 2014 2:27 AM
    Thursday, May 15, 2014 2:26 AM

Answers