none
Deleting a folder in all users profiles

Question

• Hi All,

I have a VBScript that recursively searches all user profiles and deletes a folder that I specify, for the sake of it lets call it Example. The script works fine in XP but won't work in Windows 7.

In XP, it will go to C:\Documents and Settings\ and scan through all user profiles and delete the Example folder which is exactly what I want.

In Windows 7, it goes to C:\Users and checks C:\Users\Administrator and then exits without scanning any other profile. The strange this is, if I change the script to scan c:\temp and add profiles then it scans through them and deletes Example as required.

Is there a trick to recursively scanning through c:\users? Below is the script that I am using (not my work, I am not capable of scripting such things) with the rootFolder set for Windows 7 C:\Users

Cheers,
    Harry

**********************************************************************************************

on error resume next

dim folderSpec, count

Set ws = WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Shell")

Set fs = wscript.createobject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")

rootFolder = "C:\Users\"

folderSpec = "Example"

wscript.echo "Start"
    count = 0

deleteAllFolders (rootFolder)

wscript.echo "Finished. Deleted " & count & " folders called " & folderSpec & " from " & rootFolder

'Deletes all folders in 'rootFolder' that are called 'folderSpec'
    Sub deleteAllFolders(rootFolder)
    set folderCollection = fs.GetFolder(rootFolder)
    wscript.echo "Starting at folder: " & rootFolder
    for each subFolder in folderCollection.subFolders
    wscript.echo "Checking folder: " & subfolder.path
    RecursiveSearchAndDelete(subFolder.path)
    next
    end sub

sub RecursiveSearchAndDelete(path)
    set folderCollection = fs.GetFolder(path)
    For Each Subfolder in folderCollection.SubFolders
    if subFolder.name = folderSpec then
    subfolderPath = subfolder.path