none
Powershell to get- every subsite in farm

Question

• (Powershell noob here)  I'm attempting to write a script to delete every /SitePages/Results.aspx file in the farm, but only for SubSites.  So far i've got this, which gives me each site in the farm, but i only want to do this on subsites.

$sites= Get-SPSite -WebApplication $url|Where-Object{$_.Url -like"$url/sites/*"}
    foreach($site in $sites){
    # Delete fuctions here.
    }
    I'd really like to build this script on my own but i wont argue with anyone that just happens to have this already built.  :) 
    • Edited by Matt Petrie Wednesday, July 10, 2013 10:37 PM file not folder!
    Wednesday, July 10, 2013 10:36 PM

Answers

• You can't delete items from a collection while you are enumerating it, because it dirties the collection.

To make your script work, make a copy of the files collection, and enumerate through the copy. Then use the SPFolder.Files collection to call Delete to delete any files.

All you need to do is change the foreach section of you code to look like this:

#Create a copy of the files collection
    $files = $spfolder.Files;

#Loop through the copy of the files collection foreach($file in $files){ #Delete the file named $pageName if($file -match $pageName) { #Call the delete method on the spFolder.Files collection $spfolder.Files.Delete($file.Url); Write-Host "Deleted:" $file; } }

Regards, Matthew
    MCPD | MCITP
    My Blog
    Please remember to click "Mark As Answer" if a post solves your problem or "Vote As Helpful" if it was useful.

I just added a webpart to the TechNet Gallery that allows administrative users to upload, crop and format user profile photos. Check it out here: Upload and Crop User Profile Photos

Wednesday, July 17, 2013 4:13 PM
  • Hi Matt,

Get sub site under site collection:

$sites= Get-SPSite -WebApplication $url|Where-Object{$_.Url -like"$url/sites/*"}
    foreach($site in $sites)
    {