none
PowerPoint 2003 shows corrupted files after April 13 automatic updates on Windows XP

Question

• I know this may the wrong forum as it refers to Office 2010, but I am a school teacher in a school district that only has Office 2003 on Windows XP.  District has no money to upgrade district-wide and teachers are not allowed to put their own software on district computers.  I don't know where else to turn. 

Anyway,  i had no problems displaying my PowerPoint 2003 slides through yesterday.  This morning I said "yes" to automatic updates (of which there were 23).  Now, I get the apparently usual message, “PowerPoint was unable to display some of the text, images, or objects as slides in the file (name) because they have become corrupt. Affected slides have been replaced by blank slides in the presentation and it is not possible to recover lost information. To ensure that the file can be opened in previous versions of PowerPoint, use the Save As command and save the file with the same name or a new name.”

I have tried workarounds such as doing a "save as" with different name.  No luck.  I also tried round tripping, following the procedure in this link, http://www.pptworkbench.com/html/round_trip.htm

The problem with attempting round tripping is the PowerPoint 2003 application keeps crashing during the steps in that link (creating an html file) so that I can never complete the procedure.

I have spent hundreds of hours over many years developing PowerPoints for my three levels of chemistry classes and I absolutely need to get to these soon.  State testing is next week, we're trying to do reviews . . . you get the picture.

For what it's worth, I have successfully opened the files on  Mac using Office 2004, Keynote and Neo-Office.  But, I don't have access to a Mac in my classroom so that will not be a workaround for me.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.

Branton

Branton G. Lachman
    Thursday, April 14, 2011 1:39 AM

Answers

All replies