none
Implementing Best Practices is Increasing Execution Time

Question

• I have inherited some SSIS packages that are used to populate a data warhouse using SAP SQL Server DB as a source.  I am fairly new to SSIS so I've been doing a lot of research on best practices as part of my education.

One of the data flow tasks pulls material related data and looked like a prime target for optimization as it was utilizing 6 separate OLE DB Source tasks each with their own SSIS Sort all merged within SSIS.  I was able to duplicate the logic with a single query and incorporate server-side sorting.  This should have, from all I've learned, increased performance and reduced the execution time.  Instead the execution time went from 1:02.200 to 2:35.580.

Confused I tried another tact and just removed the Sort Tasks from the original package by moving the sort to the OLE DB Sources.  Execution time was better than the attempt at consolidation but still greater than the original at 1:32.259.

Does anyone have any idea what's going on here and why it is behaving contrary to expectations?  The total output is only about 6500 rows.  If there is any additional info needed to make a prognosis let me know I just didn't want to bloat this post any more that it already is.

Thanks

Sunday, July 28, 2013 8:33 PM

Answers

• A lot of joins, so if your tables are not properly indexed you could run into some issues. Statistics may be out of date as well. Not much we can do without a query plan. Look for table/index scans instead of index seeks and look out for bookmark lookups as well.

MCSE SQL Server 2012 - Please mark posts as answered where appropriate.

Monday, July 29, 2013 6:57 PM

All replies

• Seems you have a very slow source. 6500 rows is not much and fits easily into memory, so sorting and joining inside the SSIS data flow will be very fast.