none
All rows show the same data value even if relationships are set.

Question

• Hello;

I’m new to PowerPivot so please bear with me as I ask what might be a simplistic question of the pros.

I have a model with 4 tables in it. One is a Time Table (T1).

I have two measures (Incident count and Surveys Sent) which are in one table (T2) and a third measure Surveys Returned which is in the third table (T3). I have relationships setup between T1 and T2 on the T1.DateKey and T2.ReportedDate and another one between T1.DateKey and T3.DateEntered. There is another relationship between T2.ITGroup and T4.ID.

Now, in a Pivot Table, if I put either T1.Date or T2.ITGroup in the Row Labels and then always put T2.IncidentCount, T2.SurveysSent and T3.SurveysReturned in the Values field, what I get is T2.IncidentCount and T2.SurveysSent are broken down as expected either by date or ITGroup depending on which one I put in the Rows Label, but T3.SurveysReturned always returns the same value for every rows.

This is kind of driving me nuts. I’ve seen this in Multi-Dim SSAS and I know how to fix it, but PowerPivot and SSAS Tabular – Well, it’s a mystery. So absolutely ANY help on this would be greatly appreciated.

I hope this makes sense to you.

Cheers.

Thanks Ron...

Wednesday, September 18, 2013 1:20 PM

Answers

• Ron, 

The current restriction in Power Pivot is that there cannot be relationship cycles. Like Javier mentions, if the relationship between T1 and T3 in my picture above was "flipped" (i.e. T3 is the lookup, the arrow points towards T3) then creating a relationship T3->T2 would create a cycle T1->T3->T2->T1 which is not allowed. In the event that you needed this, you would have to make one of the relationships in the cycle inactive, then use the USERELATIONSHIP function in your measures to get the desired behavior.

Thank you,

Taylor Clark

Thursday, September 19, 2013 4:43 PM

All replies

• Ron, 

Based on your description, your schema looks something like this: