none
Skydrive Pro client, group policy install

Question

• Hi All

This is my first time posting in any Forum.

I have recently started working for a new company and have never worked with active directories or group policies before.

What I am trying to do is deploy the skydrive pro Client via a group policy onto multiple computers.

I have already managed to come up with a script to sun and install office 2013,

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also a link to download the msi installer package would be much appreciated.

Thursday, November 14, 2013 8:20 AM

Answers

• Hi,

Regarding how to use group policy to deploy software to computers, we first need to create a distribution point.

To create a distribution point:

1. Log on to the server as an administrator.

2. Create a shared network folder where you will put the Microsoft Windows Installer package (.msi file) that you want to distribute.

3. Set permissions on the share to allow access to the distribution package.

4. Copy or install the package to the distribution point. For example, to distribute Microsoft Office XP, run the administrative installation (setup.exe /a) to copy the files to the distribution point.

After creating a distribution point and opening the GPO we use to deploy the installation package, we can assign the package to computers:

1. Under Computer Configuration, expand Software Settings.

2. Right-click Software installation, point to New, and then click Package.

3. In the Open dialog box, type the full Universal Naming Convention (UNC) path of the shared installer package that you want. For example, \\file server\share\file name.msi.

Important:Do not use the Browse button to access the location. Make sure that you use the UNC path of the shared installer package.

4. Click Open.

5. Click Assigned, and then click OK. The package is listed in the right-pane of the Group Policy window.

When the client computer starts, the managed software package is automatically installed.