none
RDS and ESXi

Question

• I have an ESXi 5.1.0 server (intel xeon) with 5 VM's running on it. Two of those VM's were intended to be Server 2012 Terminal Services Session Servers. I am new to server 2012, and RDS, and I didn't realize that I couldn't nest the virtualization inside ESXi. I have followed two tech.net articles on proper setup of RDS for session host and what I've resulted in is having the web gateway working, but only for RDP access directly into the server since I cannot add the Hyper-V role and begin to setup sessions for those connections to be routed to.

So I guess my question is two fold; 

A) Can you confirm that I cannot get RDS up and running on my ESXi Virtual Server 2012

B) Which virtual environment can this setup exist stably?  

Tuesday, November 19, 2013 7:05 PM

Answers

All replies

• Dear,

You can run hyper-v based on ESXi but you have to turn on the "Promiscuous Mode".

Please check the following link:

http://www.tinkertry.com/esxi-5-1-can-run-hyper-v-server-2012/

Hope it helps you to accomplish your task.

If you find this post is helpful please mark it as answer.

Regards,

Housam Smadi

Tuesday, November 19, 2013 8:36 PM
  • Hi,

For RDS Shared session host servers you do not need the RD Virtualization host (Hyper-V) role.  You can virtualize the RD Web gateway,RD Broker. You only need Hyper-V (RD Virtualization host role) for a VDI deployment or when you need to use RemoteFX vGPU features offered by Hyper-V.

There some limitations when running Server 2012 VM's on vSphere 5.1:

http://blogs.vmware.com/guestosguide/2012/09/windows-server-2012.html

Did you use the quick deployment to setup the enviroment? http://www.dannyvandam.net/microsoft/windows-server-2012-remote-desktop-services-quick-start-deployment/

When you see answers and helpful posts, please click Vote As Helpful, Propose As Answer, and/or Mark As Answer