none
Want to set up my server at home for simple purposes.

Question

• Hi,

I am an IT student and recently took a course in Windows Servers in which we were to over the duration of the course setup and configure a server using Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise.

I was so excited to get to work with this kind of stuff that I went straight to ebay and bought a used Dell 1U CS24-SC JSD2  with two Quad core Xeon L5420 2.5GHz 12MB L2 Cache 1333Mhz processors, Dell S45 Mother board on intel 5100/ICH9R chipset with ASPEED AST2000 onboard graphics and 8GB PC2-5300P Ram and two 250GB 7.2K SATA drives with an additinal two blank caddies to fill.

I have run the gauntlet setting it up as a double for the machine I am supposed to be configuring in the lab at school, just to make sure I could do the classroom exercises efficiently. Now that I am done with the course, I would like to put this beast to work as place to experiment with building web sites, as a source for media and data from remote access. I will soon be taking courses some 40 plus miles from the house which is a bugger of a turn around time of I forget a flash drive. So remote access would be nice, and to be able to host media throughout my home network consisting of two IMac's, two IPad Air's an MSI netbook running linux Ubuntu and a Dell notebook pc running Windows7  as well as two Apple Tv's.

One of my biggest things is this: I know when setting up the class machine I was required to setup Active Directory Domain Services. Since essentially the Server and the Dell notebook are the only Windows devices on the network, is it necessary to run Active Directory Domain services to be able to use web server and provide a remote connection? It would be nice to either run a protected site that I can access my data files for school that I built myself, or be able to remote connect to the server and access from the web at school.