none
Windows 7 tries IPv6 to internet

Question

• Hello,

hope someone knows better than me. I have a internal network with 2 subnets configured. Internally I'm routing ipv4 and ipv6 traffic. Addresses are coming form a Windows Server 2012 DHCP. I'm using DNS on the same server with forwarding requests to the IPS's DNS.

I have only ipv4 connectivity to the internet but when I try to browse a e.g. www.google.com from a Win7 machine I can find a cached ipv6 address for google im my DNS and obviously IE tries to connect using ipv6 which does not work in my case.

Is there any way to configure / prevent AAAA lookups for internet addresses?Only way so far I've found is to disable to retrieve an ipv6 DNS server address from DHCP.

Thank for your help. I'm quite new to this ipv6 stuff and still learning to walk :-)

Cheers

Robert 

Thursday, August 29, 2013 8:07 PM

All replies

• Hi Robert --

You can't really stop the IPv6 responses to DNS lookups -- the DNS server answers with every record it's got for a given name and leaves it to the redeiver to decide what to do. You shouldn't see your systems trying to establish IPv6 connections with external hosts, however, unless you are using Global unicast addresses OR you haven't installed the following update (our WSUS server missed it and a whole lot of grief resulted):

Windows6.1-KB2750841-x64