none
Urgent Inquiry

Question

• Here's my situation/Inquiry:

I was assigned the ignominious task of migrating a Server, from Windows SBS 2003 to Windows Server 2012 Essentials. I'm not so sure if the migration was that successful since I had to manually import all the users from the old Server. So far, with some issues that are still haunting me, the Server seems to be working. I've a couple of inquiries but I'll start with just one (for now).

The old Server had a couple of File Folders (shared) that were mapped. It had a Bubbles (not the real name) Folder as Network Drive O, Balloons Folder as Network Drive P and the Users (this one is real) Folder as Network Drive M. Since I didn't set up that old Server and I've no prior experience setting up Servers, I'm quite lost in what I'm doing. Since the people working in that office were quite comfortable seen those Folders as Mapped Network Drives, I want to do the same with the new equipment but don't know how. I want the users to see those new Mapped Network Drives so when they turn on their PC (Clients), those Mapped Drives will be shown when they open My Computer. I tried to map them inside the new Server, since they are already Shared but no one sees them on their Client PCs. So I mapped them individually on each Client, which I'm sure is not the right way.

So the question is, how do I map those Folders so everyone can see them on their clients? I'm not sure if this is done through the Group Policy Object or if there's an easier way to do it.

I'll wait till someone (anyone) has a clear-cut answer.

Thank You in advance...

Friday, October 18, 2013 8:22 PM

Answers