none
Excel Pivot Table with Date Hierarchies - query performance degradation

General discussion

• For the sake of this explanation, I’m going to try and keep it simple. Slicing the data by additional dimensions only makes the issue worse. I’ll keep this description to one fact table and three dimensions. Also, I’m fairly new to SSAS Tabular; I’ve worked with SSAS Multidimensional in the past.

We’ve got a fact table that keeps track of bill pay payments made over time. Currently, we only have about six months of data, with the fact row count at just under 900,000 rows. The grain is daily.

There is an Account dimension (approx. 460,000 rows), with details about the individual making a payment.

There is a Payment Category dimension (approx.. 35,000 rows), which essentially groups various Payees into groups which we like to report on: Automobile Loan, Mortgage, Insurance, etc.

There is the requisite Date dimension  (exactly 62093 rows-more days than we need?), which allows visibility as to what is being paid when.

Using this DW model, I’ve created a SSAS BISM Tabular model, from which Excel 2010 is ultimately used to perform some analysis, using Pivot Tables. In the tabular model, for easier navigation (doing what I’ve always done in SSAS MultiDimensional), I’ve created several Date Hierarchies, Year-Month, Year-Quarter-Month, etc.

There are currently only two measures defined in the Tabular model: one for the “Sum of PaymentAmount”; one for the “PaymentsProcessed”.

OK, in Excel 2010, using a Pivot Table, drag the “Sum of PaymentAmount” measure to the Values section, next to/under the PivotTable Field List. Not too exciting, just the grand total of all Payments, for all time.

Drag the “YearMonth” hierarchy (from the Date dimension) to the “Column Labels” section. After expanding the year hierarchy to see the months, now the totals are for each of the months, for which we have data, for June through November, 2013.