none
MDT 2012 & Lenovo T410 and T420 models

Question

• Hello,

I'm still a newbie when it comes to using MDT, but am trying to set up imaging for our Lenovo laptop models.  I created an x86 image that works just fine on our T400 models, but I can't get the T410 or T420 models to work.  I receive the error: A connection to the deployment share (servername\MDTProduction$) could not be made.  The following networking device did not have a driver installed.  PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_1502&SUBSYS_21CE17AA&REV_04.  Then you get retry or cancel. 

I realize this is an issue with installing the ethernet driver and checked, both the T420 and T410 use the same driver for the ethernet port and the T400 uses a different one, which obviously explains why I'm having issues with both of the other models.  I downloaded the original driver from Lenovo's website and when that failed, I downloaded one from Intel's site for the models.  After injecting the drivers and updating the deployment share, it still failed.

If anyone has any suggestions I would greatly appreciate it.

thanks!

Susan Mertesdorf

Thursday, May 17, 2012 6:51 PM

Answers

• Yes I did use folders.  I actually took the SWTOOLS folder right off the OEM build of the laptop and used it.  Did you try checking the box that says Import drivers even if they are duplicates of an existing driver?  You might give that a try if not.

Wade Preston

• Marked as answer by Mertz74 Friday, June 08, 2012 3:03 PM
    Tuesday, May 22, 2012 9:22 PM
  • As an interesting side note...I took the x86 Iso and burned it to a disk and started the computer off that.  Now I can get the image to work on the T420.  But it doesn't work booting from network.  Ideas?

Susan Mertesdorf

Hi,

Did you definitely update WDS with your newly created/working boot WIM?

Thursday, June 07, 2012 10:08 PM

All replies

• Do you have the proper driver loaded for the NIC?  I believe it is the  Intel(R) 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection.

Wade Preston