none
BizTalk sending message to Webservice without maps

Question

• Hi,

I am new to Biztalk. I got a requirement as below.

Requirement is below:-

1. Source: Oracle (table). I created a generated schema  in BizTalk.
    2. Target: Webservice which receives "object array"(Table of source records from Biztalk) as an input.
    3. Source and Target systems have same structure. Hence no mapping should be implemented. Logic should be in pipelines or orchestration.

Need info on below two topics:

1. How to incorporate the logic in pipeline or orchestration to map data from source schema to target WS schema.

Regards,

Vinod

• Edited by vinod959 Sunday, December 08, 2013 8:38 AM
    Sunday, December 08, 2013 8:21 AM

Answers

• Sorry, I say this with about 99.8% certainty that what you're asking is not possible.  To continue, the .02% possibility is only if somehow the Web Service was written to directly accept the OracleDB adapter output as represented by the oracleDBBinding schema.

It doesn't matter that the source and destination are logically the same (field names, types, etc).  The OracleDB output and the Web Service are represented by two different schemas in BizTalk.  That's just how it works.

So, you will need to transform the OracleDB message type (xsd) to the Web Service message type (xsd).  There is no way around this.

This is what BizTalk Maps are for.  If you do make the effort to keep the source and target the 'same' the Map would be very simple, direct one-to-one links.  Yes, it's possible to do it other ways but they would all be substantively more difficult, bug prone and with a less desirable performance profile.

I will also offer this.  The ban on Maps is completely arbitrary and counter-productive (trust us).  As a BizTalk Developer, I would simply not accept a project with this requirement.

Sunday, December 08, 2013 2:40 PM

All replies