none
Connection Security rule doesn't work when using a computer certificate

Question

• Please bear with me as I am new to using AD CA as well as connection security rules.  I am trying to deploy Connection security rules as a way of verifying a remote computer that will connect to a resource in my environment.  The two resources exist in different untrusted active directory forests. 

I have configured the Connection security rule and inbound / outbound rule for the encryption.  When using a pre shared key the rule works just fine. 

When I switch it to a computer certificate it will not establish the IPSEC connection.  The destination (192.168.1.51) is also the AD CA.  I have requested a "server auth" certificate and approved the certificate, installed the certificate into the remote computer, and then exported and imported it into the computer's personal store.

The only thing that I change between when it works and when it doesn't is changing the "first authentication methods" from preshared key to computer certificate.

Additionally, I have none of the "advanced" settings configured. 

I am literally at my wits end with this.  I have enabled Firewall verbose and connection verbose and am not getting any logs out of either.  I cleared the event logs (this is a lab) and don't see anything that pertains to IPSEC or connection security in either configuration (preshared key / computer certificate) 

Thursday, December 12, 2013 2:17 PM

All replies

• I have some event log information from the destination server. I cleared the logs on the servers (again this is just a lab) and found this audit failure created multiple times when I try to create the connection with the certificate configuration in place

Log Name:      Security
    Source:        Microsoft-Windows-Security-Auditing
    Date:          12/12/2013 7:20:19 AM
    Event ID:      5061
    Task Category: System Integrity
    Level:         Information
    Keywords:      Audit Failure