none
Delete files/folders on remote servers using powershell

Question

• Hello,

i am new to powershell.

i am trying to delete some files & folders from remote computers (server-1, server-2. server-3, server-4) 

Some are windows 2003 server are some are 2008

folders to be deleted from server are been imported to script from files.txt (c:\temp\*.*, c:\Windows\temp\*.*, c:\recycler\*.*, c:\documents and settings\*.* -except Default, All users,Administrator. 60 (profiles older than 60 days)

c:\windows\$NTUnunstaller , 30(older than 30 days), c:\users\*.* - except Default, All users, Administrator

c:\$abcd$\*.* 30

i am looking for script in powershell. which should support windows 2003 and win 2008 server

Deleted file log should be saved to log.txt with date

WinRM is Disabled in my network

thanks in advance

Thanks, jeevan

Tuesday, June 25, 2013 2:19 AM

All replies

• Are you saying that you already have a VBScript that does this job?  If so, please post the VBScript and a copy of files.txt , so we know exactly what input the script is getting.  It won't be any trouble to convert it to PowerShell, if that's what you're looking for.

Tuesday, June 25, 2013 2:25 AM
  • thanks for quick reply David.

i dont have that script in my system now iwill get it my tomorrow.

and i am looking for Powershell script  which help me for 2008 as well

***** Deleting profiles in 2008 server except Default , All users, and  Administrator

Thanks, jeevan

Tuesday, June 25, 2013 2:37 AM
  • Hello David,

sorry to day . i am not able to get that VBScript file, as that file is in private network

i can give you the list of folders can be deleted, pls find the came below

"C:\Temp\*"

"C:\Logs\*"

"C:\Documents adn settings\* 30 -exclude all users, Default User, Local Service, Administrator

"C:\Recycler\*"

"C:\Windows\Temp\*"

"C:\Windows\$nt*" 30

"C:\Windows\$hf_mig$\*" 30

"C:\WinNT\$nt*" 30

"C:\Winnt\$hf_mig$\*" 30

this are the folder which i want to clear on remote servers