none
Deleted User's My Site deleted even before 14 days period, still shows in My Site, site collections

    Question

  • A user was deleted from AD and the Timer Job marked the user's My Site for deletion and the user's manager was notified that his My site will be deleted after 14 days. But the user's site is already deleted. When we click on the site, it says "Error User not found". Can any one help in making me understand why was the site deleted even before the 14 days period and how can we change this auto deletion period from 14-30 days.

    Note: Site usage and deletion is disabled.

    Sunday, February 12, 2012 7:21 PM

Answers

All replies

  • Hi Ash5621,

    You can logon the deleted user’s My Site use the deleted user’s manager account or administrator account, to see whether the deleted user’s My Site is deleted exactly (and deleted before 14th day).

    And the user’s My Site will be deleted after 14 days once the user is deleted from AD. This is a embedded property in SharePoint and cannot be configured.

    There is a thread with same message “Error User not found” after click on the URL of the deleted user’s site from a delete-notification email, you can refer to:
    http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/sharepointsocialcomputing/thread/3227a125-d7d1-4287-94d5-c81b012e4140/

    More useful article about this topic,

    http://blogs.technet.com/b/seanearp/archive/2009/03/04/sharepoint-profile-cleanup.aspx

    http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/sharepoint2010setup/thread/587d69d6-12a6-4922-a90f-528f1ad7ba7e/

    Thanks


    Daniel Yang

    TechNet Community Support

    Monday, February 13, 2012 8:23 AM
    Moderator
  • I don't think it's right to mark this post as answered; especially when you Marked as Answered yourself.

    I just ran into this issue as well. A manager sent me the email he received earlier that morning (below). That same day, I went to check on the users site, and got a Correlation ID & "Error User not found".

    I check in AD, and the user's account had mistakenly been disabled, so I figured during the last sync process it was Excluded from Sync. I enabled the account in AD and ran an incremental sync. Once completed, I checked the URL, and I was able to see the site and profile information. The profile was lost, but the MySite content was all there.

    I'm still curious if the site will be perminently deleted in 14 days?

    Automated eMail: The My Site of [Disables Account] is scheduled for deletion in 14 days. As their manager you are now the temporary owner of their site. This temporary ownership gives you access to the site to copy any business-related information you might need. To access the site use this URL: http://mysite.url.com/personal/#####

    Thanks.


    Ricardo Vallecillo

    Thursday, March 01, 2012 9:42 PM
  • I agree that this shouldn't be closed with the above answer.  I ran into the exact issue with same results as you Ricardo.  If you ever find a better answer to this I would love to know about it.  I am trying to sort this out before it actually becomes a real issue (someone loses data they need).
    Wednesday, August 07, 2013 3:06 PM