none
Using composite key as foreign key

Question

• hi,

I am an amateur at this and have been searching everywhere for my answer. Unfortunately, I do not understand most of them so I decided to just state the whole problem and hope you can assist. I am supposed to have 3 tables:owner,property and payment. The owner table has a pk TRN that is the fk in the other tables,its fine. But my issue is with the property and payment. The property table is to have a composite key of volume and the folio fields. I had the keys appear beside both fields. Both these fields also appear in the payment table thus they are to be fk's. Whenever creating the relationship by dragging both fields over to the payment table, its is fine. But when I look at it in database view, I am not seeing the related fields or values in the property table. The payment table only shows the relationship with the owners table, which is trn. Since the assignment asked for composite keys, I hope you can assist me with this. 

Saturday, November 09, 2013 8:20 PM

All replies

• There is no problem with this scenario. This is a sample code you can try:

--create table dbo.property
    CREATE TABLE dbo.property
        (
          volume INT NOT NULL ,
          folio INT NOT NULL
        )
    GO

--creat composit pk on dbo.property
    ALTER TABLE dbo.property ADD CONSTRAINT
    PK_property PRIMARY KEY CLUSTERED 
    	(
    	volume,
    	folio
    	) 
    GO

--create table dbo.payment
    CREATE TABLE dbo.payment
        (
          volume INT NOT NULL ,
          folio INT NOT NULL
        )
    ON  [PRIMARY]
    GO

--create composit fk on dbo.payment
    ALTER TABLE dbo.payment ADD CONSTRAINT
    FK_payment_property FOREIGN KEY
    	(
    	volume,
    	folio
    	) 
    REFERENCES dbo.property
    	(
    	volume,
    	folio
    	) 
    GO

And this is the screenshot:

Saeid Hasani, sqldevelop.wordpress.com

Download Books Online for SQL Server 2012