none
Powershell script to compare one file to another.

Question

• Hi Guys,

I'm new to Powershell and have a scripting issue that is bugging me. I went through the tutorials but I don't really seem to be able to find the answer.

Ok, I need a script that compares one text file of IP addresses against a large excel file of IP addresses.

example:

text file                                                                                                                  excel file                                                     

134.135.136.137                                                                                             134.135.136.137

144.145.146.147                                                                                               144.145.146.147

155.156.157.158  let's say no match in the excel file here                           178.179.180.181

Now obviously there would be a lot more data than that. I understand how to ouput the differences in each file and then output it into a third file but that's not what I want. I need it to take the IP addresses in the text file and then compare against the excel file and then throw it into a seperate third file. It does not matter if all the IP address in the excel file match with the text file. Only if there are any in the text file that do not match with the excel file. Any help anybody could give would be gretaly appriciated. I really need help cause it's getting fustrating. :) 

Friday, November 15, 2013 8:49 PM

Answers

• Here is a possible direction.

Import text into Ecel and use Excel "Compare"  to match files.

OR

Export Excel to CSV, import both into PowerSHell and use PowerShell Compare-Object.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Saturday, November 16, 2013 4:21 AM

All replies

• PowerShell can compare two lists by using Compare-Object.