none
Using DFS to Migrate Files from Server 2003 R2 to an EMC SAN

Question

• Hi Everyone,

My file server (running Windows Server 2003R2) is running out of disk space, and we have an EMC Unified Storage appliance installed, connected to the server as a SAN. We want to migrate all of the user generated files from the server to the volumes set up on the storage appliance. The only issue, is we do 24/7 operations, and do not have the downtime available to move everything using robocopy, etc...

I saw DFS was already installed on the server, but no configurations were setup yet. Would I be able to migrate data on the server to the SAN using DFS replication? If so, how would I go about it?

More Info:
    The SAN controller is connected directly to the server using CAT6 cable, no switches/bridges/hubs in between the connection. It appears as local disks on the server itself in Logical Disk Manager.
    The amount of data needed to be moved is around 3Tb.

DISCLAIMER:
    I am new to the server/storage world, as I only have a few years experience, but I am able to understand and catch on quickly.

Sunday, October 06, 2013 1:49 AM

All replies

• Use robocopy to do a migration preserving all rights and so on. See:

http://blogs.technet.com/b/filecab/archive/2008/07/31/robocopy-mir-switch-mirroring-file-permissions.aspx

DFS is not designed doing what you're intended to do.

StarWind iSCSI SAN & NAS

Sunday, October 06, 2013 2:16 PM