none
Having issues sorting groups by a sort order from another table

Question

• I am new to PowerPivot and couldn't quite find the answer I needed in other posts, so excuse me if there was something I didn't see. I have a fact table which includes a department ID and I have a dimension table that includes the department ID and the order in which it should be sorted when it is grouped. I am doing things like summarizing the number of visits to a particular set of departments in a hospital and the departments need to be listed under the hospital in a specific order, which is a column in the dimension table. 

I created a column on my fact table that uses the RELATED function to retrieve the sort order field from the dimension table. (I got that from a set of instructions about sorting dates by month number). However, when I try to assign the new column as the sort by column for my department group, I get an error telling me that there is an incorrect one to many relationship. In other words, it thinks there are multiple departments that have the same sort order or something like that. I assure you that the sort order dimension has one record per department and one sort order per department and they are not shared. 

Obviously I could drag and drop my groupings into the right order, but I don't want to have to do that every time I produce the report. 

Can anyone give me explicit instructions? I am using imported Excel spreadsheets as my data sources. 

Thursday, March 27, 2014 5:15 PM

Answers

• I'm a little confused... does your department dimension have a field specifying department name and a field specifying department grouping? 2 distinct fields?

You shouldn't need to worry about having a sort column in the fact table.

You only need it in the dimension.  Just be sure to use only fields from the dimension when creating pivots or charts.