none
query to move tables from one database to another database

Question

• I'm new in SQL

There are several tables in DB1, their names a quite similar, Table1, Table2....... Table900

There are also other tables DB1, but I just want to move these 900 tables to DB2.

I know SQL Server has table movement tool, but choose 900 tables by hand is crazy.....

Do you know how to write query to move the tables I want from DB1 to DB2?    Or do I need to stored procedure? I have not used stored procedure and the table movement tool asks me to write query.....

Friday, October 18, 2013 8:28 PM

Answers

All replies

• One approach is using a third party tool - RedGate SQL Compare and Data Compare.

Narsimha

Friday, October 18, 2013 9:45 PM
  • Hi,

Even if you write a query (or SP), you need to still select 900 tables or de-select the rest. i believe that Import/Export wizard (or any other tool) is the easiest way.

However, if you have to do more filtering/selection based on business logic, you may write a query something like below. I have written it in very simple way, you may enhance it as your requirements.

DECLARE @sql varchar(500)
    	, @tableName varchar(100)
    	, @schemaName varchar(100)

DECLARE curTables CURSOR
    FOR
    SELECT TOP (2) s.name SchemaName, t.name TableName 
    FROM [AdventureWorks2008R2].sys.tables t
    	INNER JOIN [AdventureWorks2008R2].sys.schemas s
    		ON t.schema_id = s.schema_id
    -- WHERE t.name LIKE 'TABLE%'

OPEN curTables
    FETCH NEXT FROM curTables INTO @schemaName, @tableName
    WHILE (@@FETCH_STATUS = 0)
    BEGIN

SET @sql = 'SELECT * INTO dbo.'
    	SET @sql += @tableName
    	SET @sql += ' FROM AdventureWorks2008R2.'
    	SET @sql += @schemaName
    	SET @sql += '.'
    	SET @sql += @tableName

EXEC (@sql)

FETCH NEXT FROM curTables INTO @schemaName, @tableName
    END
    CLOSE curTables
    DEALLOCATE curTables

------------------------------------

Dinesh Priyankara
    http://dinesql.blogspot.com/