none
Bitlocker Not Enabling

Question

• I am having trouble getting Bitlocker to start on deployment for Win7Ent and Win8Pro

If I enable bitlocker manually from within windows it works fine

Tpm is enabled

Partitions:

BDEDisk - Boot - Primary - 350 Mb - No Drive Letter

OSDisk - Primary - 100%

Ignore "Create Bitlocker Partition" as disabled as I am using partition step for that

Is there a log I am overlooking, I cant seem to find anything in SMSTS.log but I am no expert in that log and cant seem to find any problems with anything when I do look.

Tuesday, December 17, 2013 7:30 PM

Answers

• You have to enable, activate and made the tpm chip ready to for the ownership change.

This all can be done with a script (Google: EnableBitlocker.vbs), although you need do modify it a little bit to do only the TPM chip parts...

Here's an old blog post about lenovo tpm chip activation:

http://blog.coretech.dk/mip/enable-lenovo-tpm-security-chip-and-other-stuff-from-a-ts/

Hope this helps!

• Proposed as answer by Narcoticoo Wednesday, December 18, 2013 4:02 AM
    • Marked as answer by CamecoKev Wednesday, December 18, 2013 9:30 PM
    Wednesday, December 18, 2013 4:02 AM

All replies

• Hi,

Look in the SMSTS.log file for more information, could it be that you have a cd/DVD in the drive? The Enable Bitlocker step in the TS doesn't start the encryption if a CD/DVD is in the drive.

Regards,
    Jörgen

-- My System Center blog ccmexec.com -- Twitter @ccmexec

Tuesday, December 17, 2013 8:27 PM
  • No Discs in the drives

This is my problem, I look in SMSTS and cant find anything about bitlocker :(

When I manually enable BL Post Deployment it tells me that it has to:

- Prepare your drive for BL (Windows RE will be moved to your system or recovery drive)

- Turn on the TPM security hardware (I have verified in BIOS that TPM is enabled)

- Reboot required to take ownership of TPM by hitting f10 on boot?

I am doing this on Lenovo Hardware.