none
How can I remove sqlwvss.dll?

Question

• I began trying to upgrade from SQL Server 2008 Express to SQL Server 2012 Enterprise, I was having LocalDB failures I could not resolve, so I decided to uninstall and start over with a clean install.

I've run windows uninstaller, manually deleted files and folders left over in the windows explorer, ran PC Tools registry mechanic to correct registry errors.  Manually removed SQL registry in regedit.

I'm left with this one final path with two files I've not yet been able to remove.

C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\90\Shared >sqlwriter.exe and sqlwvss.dll

These are the last two files left I would like to find out how to remove these before I try to reinstall SQL Server 2012 Enterprise again.

I'm a second year CIT student and need this program for class, we're 3 weeks into the term so I'm pretty determined to get this to work very soon.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Linda

Saturday, September 14, 2013 3:10 PM

Answers

• There are two thing that I would try.   Microsoft has a nice little tool to help uninstall programs that I have found quite useful.

http://support.microsoft.com/mats/program_install_and_uninstall/?wa=wsignin1.0

If that doesn't work, I would boot the machine into safe mode and completely delete the folder at the Microsoft SQL Server folder level.

As a side note the new version of SQL will install to C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\110 so it shouldn't conflict with that installation.

Good luck Linda!

• Edited by Jeremy D Allen Saturday, September 14, 2013 4:17 PM
    • Proposed as answer by Jeremy D Allen Saturday, September 14, 2013 8:21 PM
    • Marked as answer by LindaTBL Sunday, September 15, 2013 2:04 AM
    Saturday, September 14, 2013 4:14 PM

All replies

• There are two thing that I would try.   Microsoft has a nice little tool to help uninstall programs that I have found quite useful.

http://support.microsoft.com/mats/program_install_and_uninstall/?wa=wsignin1.0