none
Help creating a custom management agent

Question

• Hi,

I am looking for some straight forward steps on how I create a custom management agent with FIM 2010 R2.

I need to create disabled copies of users from one forest to the other. This is all for Lync 2010 in a Resource topology.

I have two separate forests connected by a 2-way domain trust.

ABC.com is my user forest, which is Windows 2003. 

XYZ.local is my Resource forest, which is Windows 2008 R2. Lync is in this forest.

I found some PowerShell that will do this for me, however, I need to install ADGWS for PowerShell to connect to my 2003 DCs. I'd rather not touch the DC at all. I want my user forest to be untouched and only make changes in my Resource forest. My plan is to have FIM deployed in my Resource forest, calling the users from the user forest.

Can anyone help me with step by step instructions? I have zero experience with in programming... 

Saturday, October 26, 2013 8:38 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hello,

since you dont have code experience it will be not that easy to develop en ECMA2 for that approach.

I would do the following:

- Create a AD MA for the local forest, to read and maybe update the users there

- Use the Powershell Management Agent in resource forest to to create users and do the lync stuff with powershell.

or

- Instead of the Powershell MA, you can use the Codeless Provisioning Framework from Soeren, which is also written in Powershell.

In both cases you have only to deal with Powershell as the coding language, this should help coming to faster results and even you dont have to mix programming languages.

Regards
    Peter

Peter Stapf - Doeres AG - My blog: JustIDM.wordpress.com

Sunday, October 27, 2013 7:49 AM
  • Hi Peter,