none
Difference between Name columns, Attributes, and Member properties

Question

• I am studying for the "70-463 Implementing a Data Warehouse with Microsoft SQL Server 2012" exam. I am using the "Training Kit (Exam 70-463): Implementing a Data Warehouse with Microsoft SQL Server 2012".

In chapter 1 of this book the different columns of dimension are explained., however I fail to understand the difference between the following column types:

- Name columns: Used for human names of entities
    - Attributes: Used for pivoting in analyses
    - Member properties: Used for labels in a report

As far I can understand all those three are labels and can be used interchangeable. Am I correct? Or am I wrong? I suppose there might be some practical differences, but how can you tell?

I would really appreciate some examples showing the same data in a LOB (OLTP), data warehouse (star schema), and data mart (OLAP cube) form.

Thank in advance.

• Edited by Arjen Krap Monday, December 30, 2013 2:11 PM
    Monday, December 30, 2013 2:10 PM

Answers

All replies

• Those refer specifically to attributes in an Analysis Services Multidimensional Model.

See: Attributes and Attribute Hierarchies

And a "Member Property" just means an attribute with AttributeHierarchyEnabled = False, so the attribute can be used in report output, but can't be used for filtering or pivoting.

David

David http://blogs.msdn.com/b/dbrowne/

Monday, December 30, 2013 4:12 PM
  • If I understand correctly the difference is about context or how you use the column.

I did some further reading, and now I understand that an attribute can consists multiple columns. This way the following is possible:

• An attribute can be combined of multiple columns: e.g. the attribute address can combined by the apartment number, house number, street name, ZIP code, city, state, and country.