none
Keeping your servers up-to-date with patches

Question

• Hello All,

Please note that this is NOT a WSUS question. I have that installed in our environment and I know how to use it, or at least I like to think I do. I am a System Admin of a completely virtualized environment. As our company grows, more and more servers have been built and keeping up with the latest patches has become a challenge. So I am looking for some advice from users who have more experience here than I do.

Up to this point, we have been updating the virtual machines as we do the ESX(i) hosts. This was okay when there were fewer machines. Now, if there are 20 or more VMs on a single host, it is just too time consuming. Also, as we add more hosts, we fall behind with the updates. So, I am thinking we can keep on top of it better if I can separate the ESX(i) updates from the Windows Updates. So perhaps I can update a different group of VMs each day. Production VMs will need to wait until the weekend of course. I am thinking I will create a new group in WSUS that has all of the latest updates approved and then move the VMs into that group as I am ready to do each machine. I manually approve the updates but I can probably auto-approve critical updates. 

Anyway, for those of you who who work in larger environments and keep on top of Windows updates for servers, how do you do it? What are your best practices? All of our desktop computers automatically install updates in the late-night hours but we obviously cannot do that with servers. Let me know if you have any questions or need more information. Thanks for the help.

-Adam

Friday, April 25, 2014 7:35 PM

Answers

• The best way I've found for handling this is spread which servers receive their updates on which days, and which servers can be allowed to automatically install them and reboot, and while need manual intervention.