none
Signing Scripts

Question

• I'm fairly new to PowerShell and I'm struggling with script signing.  I have the following code in my PowerShell profile.

Set-Location Y:\Scripting\PowerShell

function sign ($filename) {
           $cert = @(gci cert:\currentuser\my -codesigning)[0]
           Set-AuthenticodeSignature $filename $cert
          }

The goal is to allow me to sign scripts using the following syntax from any location:

sign <Script Name>.ps1

When I run that command I get results like this:

SignerCertificate                                                    Status    Path
         ------------------                                                     -------    -----
         6ECC6328403812072D553A7DD073589C27A412FA  Valid     getexecpol.ps1

There are two problems:

1. I have my execution policy set to AllSigned.  Often, after signing the script and getting the results shown above, when I try to run the script I get a message saying that the script is unsigned.  The certificate does not expire until 12/10/2015 and I've used it successfully to sign scripts that run fine after being signed, so I think the certificate is good.
    2. If I'm not in the same folder as the script being signed then I need to put in the full path to the script, or switch to that folder.  That's not a big deal, but it would be handy if I could make it work from any location without needing the full path.  In an effort to make that happen, I added the path shown in the first line above to the Path environment variable in Windows, but that did not seem to make a difference.

Basically, I would like to know how I can improve upon my current setup.  How can I make script signing work reliably from any location?

Thanks for any help that you can offer!

--Tom

Tuesday, December 24, 2013 10:31 PM

Answers

• Thanks for your reply.