none
Running Hyper-V on Windows 7!

General discussion

• I know this might sound like a silly question, but its only cuz im still new to the whole virtualization technology!

Suppose i have a pc that runs windows7, is it possible to install Hyper-V on top of it?

thank you all in advance
    Thursday, December 24, 2009 2:45 PM

All replies

• No but it is possible to run JUST the Hyper-v server (the command line only server) and use the RSAT tools on your Windows 7 box to create and admin your vm's which are running on this box. So there are a couple of caveats here:
    1. You need Hyper-V server 2008 (or 2008 R2) running on a true VT enabled server (IT'S FREE So download it.)
    2. The RSAT tools on your Windows 7 box

You could also use Vmware Workstation to load the Hyper-v 2008 server as a proof of concept so you can see what it looks like.

It works pretty well in that fashion.
    Hope this helps.
    Mike

Saturday, January 16, 2010 6:02 AM
  •  

Windows 7 doesn't have feature to install Hyper-V, but if you have Server2008 or 2008 R2, on the top of that you can even install Windows 7 as virtual machine.

You need to changes BIOS to enabled Virtualization Technology. and then open Server Manager and add new roles select Hyper-V.

After reboot, click new on server manager, select virtual machine. will be good if you have .iso images of ghost OS.

I feel its not the comprehensive but definitely help you.

Neeraj

Wednesday, April 04, 2012 9:24 AM
  • Hi Neeraj,

I have Work Station 7 installed on Win7. When i try to install Win2008R2, I get a pop up that, VT is not enabled and here is the situation My Processor dont support VT. Can you suggest me how to proceed with this case

Thursday, July 26, 2012 6:15 PM