none
possible to make deployable PoSh utility for FIM?

Question

• First, let me say that I am a complete and total noob with regards to FIM or any identity management solution.  I'm a secondary AD administrator that would like to build a PowerShell script to allow me to more easily and quickly manage AD security group memberships without having to go through the FIM portal. 

The answer to my first question may negate my other ones:

• Is it possible for a user who has permission to change security group membership via the FIM portal to manipulate said security group via PowerShell from an ordinary domain-joined workstation?
    • How might one do that?  I'm not asking for someone to write a functioning script (though I won't complain if they do!), but I can see from here that it should be possible in certain situations.  However, it seems to require the FIMAutomation snapin which requires the FIMAutomation class be registered.  After following info here on doing that, I am still getting errors related to "Microsoft.ResourceManagement, Version=4.0.2592.0 or one of it's dependancies.  I have also found this, but I don't have Visual Studio (and don't really want it either - I'm not a developer, just a script writer/administrator). 
    • What is the bare minimum required on a workstation to do the above?  I'd love to be able to use (or have others use) this, but if I have to install Visual Studio and FIM components, it's not worth it.

If I'm simply barking up the wrong tree because I have no concept of how Identity management works, please let me know that.