none
Is it possible to modify a view at run time?

Question

• Hi,

I am relatively new to using SQL Server, so sorry if this is impossible or very easy and I missed the solution.

I am working on an enterprise SQL Server 2008 R2.  Because of the size of the company, we do not want to create new Views as they need to be maintained.  With that said, I need to use Views and not tables because of DB traffic issues.

HERE IS MY QUESTION:

Is it possible to Alter a view at run time; in this specific instance I want to change a constraint in the WHERE clause to include one more value in an IN() constraint.  Specifically I want the modified SQL to go from WHERE column IN('A', 'B', 'C') to 

WHERE column IN('A', 'B', 'C', 'L').  I do not want to permanently modify the View, I just want the View to change when it is run for this report.  I need to do this in order to fix a dynamic report.  I am sure that there is another way to accomplish this; however, a solution of this manner would also have many other uses, so I am curious if this is possible. 

Feel free to tell me that it can be done. 

Thanks for your ideas!!

Thursday, March 27, 2014 7:56 PM

All replies

• Can it be done at runtime?  Yes.  Can it be done without permanently modifying the view?  No.

But it is likely the wrong approach for many reasons.  I will also say that your reasoning for implementing views is highly suspicious.  A view is simply a pre-coded select statement and has no more and no less impact on database resources or "traffic" than the query which defines the view.  Altering a view also requires certain privileges that an average user or application should not have.   Lastly, you cannot temporarily alter a view - when altered it is permanent and affects all users.