none
Full System Restore to a Wireless Client

Question

• I am trying to do a full system restore on my laptop which doesn't have an Ethernet port, from a backup on my Windows Server 2012 Essentials Server.  I have USB/Ethernet adapter but I can't get the drivers for the adapter to load from my USB Recovery Key.  I copied the "Drivers for Full System Restore Folder" onto the USB key, but it doesn't include the drivers for the Ethernet adapter, so I copied its driver files over to the root of the USB drive (recovery key).  When the full system restore wizard loads drivers, it finds drivers in the "Drivers for Full System Restore Folder", but not the ones I copied over for the adapter.  Of course, I can't do the restore over a wireless connection, so I don't know how I can complete the restore if I can't get the restore wizard to load drivers for the Ethernet adapter.  Obviously, I'm a novice, but I can't believe MS didn't anticipate this problem with the abundance of tablets and ultrabooks that no longer include Ethernet ports.  I sure could use some help.
    Friday, October 25, 2013 2:25 AM

Answers

• I came across exactly the same problem. And managed to solve it with some combination.

I created the USB image with PE environment. I used this: w8pese.cwcodes.net

To have wi-fi support, during the process I added to it all of the drivers. I have found them in original “Drivers for Full System Restore” folder (probably only one, specific for Wi-Fi would be enough).

After copying the image onto an USB, I added to it 785AD7EA-0C16-4F43-8AB5-F2904D22483F folder I found on standard restoration USB.

After booting, I connected to the wifi using PENetowork (included in w8pese), then run CLIENTRESTOREWIZARD.exe I copied within 785AD7EA…

It connected to the server “as by cable”. And restored successfully.

Monday, November 04, 2013 3:20 PM

All replies

• Have you tried putting the drivers in the Drivers folder?