none
Calculated Field to return a text value

Question

• I'm trying to create a calculated field that will hit on keywords in folder names and return a value based on the keyword found. Obviously the folder name is contained in the "Name" field on my sharepoint site but how do I write a formula that will look for a specific word or phrase and return an assigned text value?

Example: Name field contains a list of folders (see the name list below). I want the formula to search for "AAA" and return value "XYZ", I want to search for "BBB" and return value "ABC",and I want to search for "CCC" and return a null field.

Name

Folder AAA Z

Folder BBB Z

Folder CCC Z

So we're all clear what I'm up against; right now I have a total of 45 folders (soon to be more) that I want to cut down to 5 or 6 after grouping by the returned value generated by the calculated field. I have zero experience and I'm not a formula or a code guy. I've spent quite a few hours so far but I'm getting nowhere.

Friday, December 27, 2013 7:43 PM

Answers

• I ended up using a custom content type based on a folder. Then created a custom column based on said content type, assigning keywords to the folders, and then grouping by the custom column. It involves more hands on going forward but I had no luck with the calculated field because of the restrictions on using the name field to extract information from. Seems really dumb as that is the one single field that people will always use.

Thanks for your help Alex. Your suggestions didn't actually work but you got my brain spinning in the right direction.

Wednesday, January 01, 2014 3:43 PM
  • Hi DKeller33

I'm gladyou were able to get it working with content types but if the calculated column
    allows less hands-on maintenance I am guessing you'd probably prefer to use
    that solution. So I'd like to take one more stab at it if you will bear with me

For your case, I created a new document library so I could test out the calculation.