none
Computers Not Receiving WSUS Updates

Question

• I'm new to WSUS and I'm encountering a few problems.  My workstations are not receiving WSUS updates.  I have a domain policy setup so that the workstations should be receiving automatic updates at a scheduled time every day, but the updates are not occurring. 

Question #1)  I recently had to uninstall and re-install WSUS Server because I was receiving a SQL database error every time that I tried to import new WSUS packages.    I was able to get rid of that problem, but do I need to delete my WSUS workstation domain policy and recreate it, since I uninstalled/re-installed WSUS?

I've successfully uploaded new WSUS packages to my WSUS Server (it's on a disconnected network), using the "wsusutil.exe import <.cab filename> <logfile name>" command.  My domain controller (which is running WSUS) automatically received the WSUS updates, but the 10 computers on my disconnected network did not receive the updates. 

Question #2)  My domain controller is listed in the WSUS Admin Console, but none of my workstations are listed.  Is that normal?  Should I be able to see all of the workstations from the Admin Console?  I don't know if this is the reason my workstations are not receiving the WSUS updates.

Question #3)  In addition, when I check for updates from the workstations, I'm receiving the following error --   

"Code 80072EFD Windows Update encountered an unknown error."

Does anyone have a recommended fix action for this?  I'm guessing this error is the main cause of my problems.

Thank you in advance. 

James Hutchinson

• Edited by jhutch03 Monday, October 28, 2013 4:07 PM
    Monday, October 28, 2013 4:03 PM

Answers

• I think I may have figured out what I did wrong.  I uninstalled and re-installed WSUS (again).  This time, I didn't use the "recommended" port 80 for IIS, I used port 8530.  I think this is why I couldn't see any of my computers in the WSUS Admin Console.