none
MDT 2012 - Deployment of two partitions using a USB stick

Question

• Hi  guys,

I am pretty new to MDT 2012, I used so far Ghost to do our images. But the user friendly and customable interface convinced me to change camps. I am using an USB stick to deploy my images.

So far  I captured one image of the c:\ drive and one image of the d:\ drive. The d drive contains only data. Then I created a deployment share and a media from which I created my USB stick. I managed to set up a task sequence that partitions my hard drive in 2 partitions, and I gave the second partition the variable Data. The OS gets correctly installed on c:\.  So far so good. The hard thing now is to get the second partition onto the disk.

I created a new command line entry in my task sequence in the State Restore section:

"%DeployRoot%\Tools\X86\imagex" /apply "%DeployRoot%\Data\data.wim" 1  %data%

Now I get the error that the file specified cannot be found.

I put the file on my USB stick in e:\deploy\data.

Is there anything that I am missing here ? I spent already 2 weeks on this subject, but I didn't find a solution to this problem. 

Maybe someone in this forum can help me?

Thanks in advance !

Monday, February 18, 2013 9:44 PM

Answers

• Thanks for your comment !

In fact I did the partitioning exactly as you indicate, this part is working fine.

I now created a little script that extracts all data from a zip file that I included in the image of the c:\ drive. This is working. I launch it in the State Restore phase.

But is there a way to define in the script that it should extract a zip file from the installation drive ? If I use %deployroot% in the script as a variable, it is not working. Do you have an idea for this ?

I also placed the scipt in the Install phas, but it's not executed.

I would not put the zip-file in the image of the C:-partition that you wan't to have on your D:-partition cause, then you can't change the data without recreating the whole image.