none
Windows Server 2012 R2 Complete Setup

Question

• Hi guy,

I am a student and I am currently in my second year of study for my Computing degree. I have recently installed Windows Server 2012 R2 with Essentials. This has been the first time I have done so and the reason being when I graduate I would like to get into networking as my career path. So I thought what is a better way of getting one step ahead of the competition and also I do have access to a lot of free Microsoft Premium softwares.

So the problem I am having is I have installed the OS and I have a hell of a lot of red flags on my dashboard. The sole purpose for me wanting to set this server up is so that I can have access to Ubuntu as a VM & run my own cloud service, and access all my files no matter what part of the world I am in. I have no technical no how in regards to the Windows Server OS, I have managed to make some steps forward but I do not think I am heading in the right direction in regards to the final goal. I have searched all over the internet for step-by-step guides on how to step the whole thing up but I have had no luck. Can anyone please help me???

Sunday, December 29, 2013 7:38 PM

Answers

• A good place to get started with Windows Server 2012 if you don't want to spend money is earlyexperts dot net and start the apprenticeship quest.

For detailed step by step guide visit eradroid dot com. I'm currently pursuing MCSE Server Infrastructure and I created some post on how to configure Hyper-V, Create Virtual Network Switch, create Virtual machine, install Windows Server 2012, ...

I also suggest you read 070-410: Installing and Configuring Windows Server 2012  by Craig Zacker. If you don't want to buy the book, try to visit Microsoft Virtual Academy, there are tons of Windows Server 2012 stuff there.