none
Want to create Duplicate database servers which both servers are usable.

Question

• Hi,

I currently have one SQL server 2012 Enterprise R2 running on Windows Server 2012 R2 Enterprise. I would like to create a duplicate database server which is the exact mirror of my current one and also be usable by client, can it be possible? I read about Database Mirroring and AlwaysOn Availability Groups and i found out that the secondary replica of both mirroring and AAG are not be usable as the primary. THank you

Friday, July 05, 2013 7:28 AM

Answers

• Hi Tibor,

Thanks for your advice. I forgot to mention that we are planning to use one as primary Read-write and one as secondary Read-only but both must be readable and sync. Can I use database mirroring? If I use Database mirroring can both of the principal and mirror are readable? Please leave a msg if my question is not too clear, because I'm quite new to MS SQL server. Thanks again....

Hi ,

In mirroring you Mirror database is always in restoring state so you cannot run any query nor access it in read only format.How ever using snapshot you can do it( i dont like it that way)

If you want your other DB to be read only why not use Transaction log shipping ..other databse will be in read only mode and you can run select queries on secondary instance.

it can work both in full rec and bulk recovery,can tolerate network fluctuation(this might cause issue with mirroring as it requires continuous connectivity)

Please read this article

Please revert if u have any other query

thanks

Please mark this reply as the answer or vote as helpful, as appropriate, to make it useful for other readers

Monday, July 08, 2013 3:25 PM
  • Hi Tibor,