none
Recovery of corrupt/lost .ndf file. No backup of database

Question

• Hi,

Firstly, I am no database expert, no pardon any idiocy...

I noticed that my database was no longer working and upon investigation noted that three .ndf files were missing. These files do not exists on the hard-drive anymore and I do not have any database backups that can be recovered.

Is there any way... and I mean ANY WAY that I can still recover the data. The database has a lot of .ndf files and I suspect the missing files range between 4Gb and 18Gb each.

Please, I really need to recover the database, or at least only loose a few weeks of data and not the entire database.

Regards,

Barend

Wednesday, August 21, 2013 1:19 PM

Answers

• If you have no backup and the files are gone from the drive, there is nothing you can do.  You might be able to send your drive to a data recovery service and see if they can recover anything.

Wednesday, August 21, 2013 1:26 PM
  • Barend,

Is there no way in recreating dummy files in the place of these files, allbeit loosing some data?

At this point, you're walking into advanced recovery techniques - and I mean this in a way of getting any data from the database that *may* still be there and accessible. This is beyond the scope of simple forum posts, you'll want to contact someone in the industry who has the expertise to deal with this. I will warn you, though, there is a chance (depending on database structure, that little to no data could be recovered from the files left in the database.

-Sean

Sean Gallardy | Blog | Twitter

Thursday, August 22, 2013 11:42 PM

All replies

• If you have no backup and the files are gone from the drive, there is nothing you can do.  You might be able to send your drive to a data recovery service and see if they can recover anything.

• Hello Barend,

If you don't have a backup, then you have a big problem.

First option, try to "undelete" the files on OS file level, may you can get them back that way.