none
Migration from Server 2003R2 to Server 2012 Failure!

Question

• Hi All

Hi All

Sorry to post all this in one go! 

work for an IT company that supports schools and I've got the responsibility of replacing two old 2003 servers for 2012 servers. I thought I'd give migration a go. I have been following this video as I've no experience with migrating AD to another DC. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OG5K6B7hgRU The first server I did using this video went like a dream I literally had no issues what so ever which made me feel extra confident and started this video for the second server. 

It was working fine, AD was populated, all users were there, group policy had migrated .. it was looking really good until I tried to demote the old server. I ended up having to use "dcpromo /forceremoval". Since demotion the server 2012 now says the domain doesn't exist.  Something has gone very very wrong here and I have no idea how to fix it.

The server stays on "please wait" when starting up for ages.

When trying to authorise DHCP i get an error message "DHCP could not contact active directory"

If I enable the second network card and then try to authorise DHCP it picks up a 169.x based IP address, when disabling the second NIC, DHCP sees the server with it's correct static address.

There were other references to other DC's which I've tried to removed all references too but still not luck

I can't open Active directory and when I try to it says "Naming information cannot be located because The specified domain either does not exist or could not be contacted. Contact your system administrator to verify that your domain is properly configured and is currently online" 

When I open Active directory domains and trusts I get "The configuration information describing this enterprise is not available. The specified domain either does not exist or could not be contacted"