none
Set a column in a table to get the default value from a column in another table

Question

• Good evening,

After Learning Microsoft Access and VBA for the past 3 years, now I have decided to link via ODBC to an SQL server database for better performance. I am new to SQL and I have a strong desire to learn it quite fast...

I have 2 questions:

First: I want a field named "Société" in a table named "FactureMERCURYToutes" to have as a default value, the field "Société" from the table "Corporation"

I read that a trigger could be best way to achieve that, can someone give me how the fields mentioned above could be written, it does not need to be a trigger.

Second: My first goal when I have decided to link to an SQL server database is that many of my customers which to have 3 to 10 users to create orders simultaneoulsy, Access security is not as stong as an SQL database also.

However, I try to connect 2 computers and create 2 orders at the same time and I received this message:

Do I have to set something in SQL Server 2012 Express to allow multiples connexions?

Thank you all for your time

Claude, Québec, Canada

Claude Larocque

Tuesday, November 12, 2013 10:19 PM

Answers

• 1. To enforce referential integrity  you would have create a trigger   or use OUTPUT column

create table t1 ( i int identity not null primary key, j int not null unique )
    create table t2 ( i int not null, j int not null)

insert into t1 (j)
    output inserted.i, inserted.j into t2
    select o.object_id from sys.objects as o

select * from t1
    select * from t2
    drop table t1, t2;
    go

2.Every user that attempts to create a order should get unique number? 

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/129329/optimistic-vs-pessimistic-locking

>>>Do I have to set something in SQL Server 2012 Express to allow multiples connexions?

No

Best Regards,Uri Dimant SQL Server MVP, http://sqlblog.com/blogs/uri_dimant/

MS SQL optimization: MS SQL Development and Optimization