none
TSQL-Dynamic SQL: Issues with using the sp_executesql option

Question

• SQL Server:  Version 2008 R2

I'm new to Dynamic SQL which is probably obvious.  I'm trying to use the sp_executesql  option to execute the code since I need to pass parameter values.

Any ideas where my syntax is incorrect or I'm off base?

Thanks,

...bob sutor

THE ERROR CODE:

Msg 214, Level 16, State 2, Procedure sp_executesql, Line 1
    Procedure expects parameter '@statement' of type 'ntext/nchar/nvarchar'.

MY OFFENDING CODE:

Use Viewpoint
    Go
    Declare @SQL varchar(1000)
    Declare @AuditResult tinyint
    Set @AuditResult = 0
    Set @SQL = N'
     IF EXISTS(Select * from HRTC)
     BEGIN
      SET @AuditResult = 1
     END
     ELSE
      SET @AuditResult = 0;'
    BEGIN
    EXEC sp_executesql @Stmt = @SQL, @params = N'@AuditResult int'
    END
    Select @AuditResult AS Result

Bob Sutor

Friday, November 08, 2013 10:35 PM

Answers

• 1. You are using type varchar and you should use UNICODE that mean using one of those type: ntext/nchar/nvarchar

2. You should pass the parameter to the SP like this:

EXEC sp_executesql @Stmt = @SQL, @params = N'@AuditResult int', @AuditResult=0;
    try this:
    Declare @SQL nvarchar(1000)

Set @SQL = N'
     IF EXISTS(Select * from [2121212121212]) 
     BEGIN 
      SET @AuditResult = 1
     END 
     ELSE 
      SET @AuditResult = 0;

select @AuditResult'

BEGIN
    END

[Personal Site] [Blog] [Facebook]signature

• Edited by pituach Friday, November 08, 2013 11:13 PM
    • Proposed as answer by Rechousa Friday, November 08, 2013 11:18 PM
    • Marked as answer by ConstPM Friday, November 08, 2013 11:46 PM
    Friday, November 08, 2013 11:00 PM
  • The same rules apply regardless of the number of parameters passed.  I suggest the following methodology for dynamic SQL statement development.

1.  Start with the final parameterized SQL statement batch you want to execute: