none
How to work around Share point accessibility requirement ?

Question

•  

Hi,

I am somewhat new to things related to accessibility in SharePoint. I am trying to work on section 508 accessibility requirements for SharePoint site. I have tried to see few articles from the internet and still looking for more information on the subject matter including what to consider fro preparing requirement.  

I am looking to know what is possible and what is not with SharePoint?

How to achieve all the possible accessibilities in SharePoint?

Is it possible to make accessible all site types (Publishing, team sites,…)?

Please help me in understanding everything around SharePoint accessibility and first in preparing the requirement document. I have tried to see AKS site but there were some issues that are not clear for me at this level.

Thank you in advance,

ephi
    Friday, February 13, 2009 2:42 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hi there, a good way to start of is to read MS VPATs, who in detail describes what are compilant and in witch levels and sections.

http://www.microsoft.com/Industry/government/products/section508.mspx

Chris
    Sunday, February 15, 2009 12:43 PM
  • EPhi,

the acessibility in Sharepoint CAN be achieved using some help, there are nowadays some frameworks to help us:

AKS - Acessibility Kit for Sharepoint (this one you already know)
    SPWorks (ARF) - Alternative Rendering Framework for Sharepoint (http://www.spworks.co.uk/downloads/latest.aspx)

You can apply your own development technices, I have written  a 2 part article on this:

http://techtalkpt.wordpress.com/2008/06/18/building-accessible-sharepoint-sites-part-1/
    http://techtalkpt.wordpress.com/2008/08/07/building-accessible-sharepoint-sites-part-2/

As far as I can tell the best solution up to now is the ARF from SPWorks, but there are much more information on achieving W3C complaince to Sharepoint.

Ricardo Magalhães
    • Marked as answer by Ephi Wednesday, April 13, 2011 8:59 PM