Exchange Server TechCenter > Exchange Server Forums > Anti-virus/Anti-spam > Test-SenderID reports ok however SEnderID has blocked mail??
Ask a questionAsk a question
 

QuestionTest-SenderID reports ok however SEnderID has blocked mail??

  • Tuesday, October 27, 2009 4:20 PMbaggies1 Users MedalsUsers MedalsUsers MedalsUsers MedalsUsers Medals
     
    hi,

    we had an email from a domain named tntpost.co.uk

    the email got rejected several time by our sender id spam filter.

    however when using test-senderid command in exchange shell it appears to pass the test?

    i used the ip address from network-tools external website to verify the ip address and used this when using test-senderid.

    any ideas why spam filter is picking up this particular email?

    would it be because at the time of recieving the email the domain could not be resolved.

    any help would be great thanks.
    MCSE, CCA

All Replies

  • Wednesday, October 28, 2009 9:36 AMElvis Wei -MSFTMSFT, ModeratorUsers MedalsUsers MedalsUsers MedalsUsers MedalsUsers Medals
     

    Hi,

     

    Could you please let us know how do you know the mail is rejected by sender id filter? Even sender ID check fails, Exchange can still go on processing the mail. You could check the setting at Anti-spam | Sender ID properties | Action tab.

     

    Please read the following article for more information:

     

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa996295.aspx

     

     

    Thanks,

     

    Elvis

  • Wednesday, October 28, 2009 9:40 AMbaggies1 Users MedalsUsers MedalsUsers MedalsUsers MedalsUsers Medals
     
    because of the below in the edge server agent log.


    2009-10-26T15:25:01.369Z,08CC21785036791B,DELETED,85.119.248.30:55897,85.119.248.30,,DELETED@tntpost.co.uk,DELETED@tntpost.co.uk;,DELETED@tobar.co.uk,1,Sender Id Agent,OnEndOfHeaders,RejectMessage,550 5.7.1 Sender ID (PRA) Not Permitted,Fail_NotPermitted,DELETED@tntpost.co.uk,


    Actions setting is set to "reject" which i would expect it to be...
    MCSE, CCA
  • Wednesday, October 28, 2009 12:49 PM--Vinod-- Users MedalsUsers MedalsUsers MedalsUsers MedalsUsers Medals
     
    Have you synched the EDGE subscription between EDGE and HT?
    Vinod |CCNA|MCSE 2003 +Messaging|MCTS|ITIL V3|
  • Wednesday, October 28, 2009 1:16 PMbaggies1 Users MedalsUsers MedalsUsers MedalsUsers MedalsUsers Medals
     
    ah..

    after a check of the offending ip address reported in the exchange agent log i got this from networks tools

    Ping 85.119.248.30

    [mail003.apm-internet.net]

    Round trip time to 85.119.248.30: 113 ms
    Round trip time to 85.119.248.30: 115 ms

    APM is the new smtp retainer for our domain.

    ovbiously only a portion of our mail is being blocked however should i adress this with APM?


    MCSE, CCA