none
Can't run any program as administrator

Question

• I can't run any program as administrator on Windows 8 Enterprise, 64 bit. I am the only user and administrator. All programs that I have tried now, notepad through cmd, run smoothly as 'normal' none as admin (elevated cmd not from Win+X either). When I try, I see the 'system busy' cursor for a second, then nothing (no error message either). I am not aware of any change in my system since it worked as it should.

In safe mode I could run sfc/scannow, and open its log. The program finished with reporting that it had found but could not fix some corrupt system files. In the log these lines may refer to some issue (I am no expert):

CBS    Failed to resume suspended COM objects. [HRESULT = 0x80004015]

CBS    Failed to initialize all COM objects, ignore the failure since service is shutting

CBS    Failed during startup processing, continuing with Trusted Installer execution [HRESULT = 0x80070bc2]

CBS    SQM: Failed to start upload with file pattern: C:\Windows\servicing\sqm\*_std.sqm, flags: 0x2 [HRESULT = 0x80004005 - E_FAIL]

CBS    SQM: Failed to start standard sample upload. [HRESULT = 0x80004005 - E_FAIL]

CBS    SQM: Failed to start upload with file pattern: C:\Windows\servicing\sqm\*_all.sqm, flags: 0x6 [HRESULT = 0x80004005 - E_FAIL]

CBS    SQM: Failed to start always sample upload. [HRESULT = 0x80004005 - E_FAIL]

CBS SQM: Warning: Failed to upload all unsent reports. [HRESULT = 0x80004005 - E_FAIL]

CBS    Startup: Failed to initiate a rollback transaction. A restart will be performed, prior to trying again. [HRESULT = 0x8000ffff - E_UNEXPECTED]

CBS    Registry value for the force canceled transactions is not available. Resetting. [HRESULT = 0x80070490 - ERROR_NOT_FOUND]

CBS    Failed during startup processing, continuing with Trusted Installer execution [HRESULT = 0x800f0923]