none
MSExchangeTransportLogSearch.exe eating my memory

Dotaz

• Hi.

Im new to MsExchange, and have ran into a issue I hope explanation on. I couldnt find same issue when searching around.
    The exchange server is used for private usage, number of mail accounts is <15. Reason I use it is to be able to educate myself using serversolutions included MsExchange since Im not able to educate at a university.

I got a MSExchange Server 2010 installed on a WinServer2008r2 with 4gb memory installed (for now).
    When troubleshooting on a mail-issue from a forum-site I got, I got "spam-attacked" through my mailservice.
    over 80'000 e-mails were routed through my mail-server.
    I fixed the restrictions so I werent spammed anymore, but it were after this the memory-issue came.
    Before the issue I had around 400-500mb memory free on the server. But now MSExchangeTransportLogSearch is eating my memory.
    I have rebooted the server. When I kill the process, it comes back as expected. I killed it to see the memory eating.
    It graduatly starts eating. The memory usage just keeps rising untill there are no more memory for it to eat. It stops on aprx 3'600 mb memory.

Hope for a explanation on why, and a fix for solution the issue.
    I also run other server-application on the same server, such as iss. So this issue makes it hopeless for me to use the server for anything else then Exchange..

Best regards - Knut Arne

10. června 2012 20:54

Všechny reakce

• Are there still messages in the queues?

Regardless, since this sounds like a test server, you could try stopping the MSExchangeTransport service, rename the database ( or delete it) and restart the Transport service. It will recreate the database, rename any unwanted logs ( event log events will fire if it does that) and start you off clean.

10. června 2012 22:14
    Moderátor
  • I managed to get rid of all messages in queue.