none
Internet Facing FQDN

Frage

• Hi,

I am new to exchange 2010 , I have installed exchange 2010 standard on single server ( mailbox & hub transport together) . Every thing is working fine only few external domain are rejecting our smtp connection due to PTR record

#554 This server requires PTR for unauthenticated connections. ##

Received: from Exchange.mycompany.com ([fe80::b1df:474e:7f1b:9941]) by EXCHANGE.mycompany.com ([fe80::b1df:474e:7f1b:9941%11]) with mapi id 14.01.0218.012; Thu, 14 Jun 2012 10:11:37 +0300

I feel that this is because of our internal and external differnet FQDN.

my internet fqdn is exchange.mycompany.com and external is mail.mycompany.com

I tried to change fqdn at internet send connector but no success

I want to ask how can i change internet facing fqdn to my server ?

Thanks in advance

Freitag, 15. Juni 2012 05:32

Antworten

• Thanks for your reply , yes I can request to ISP to change it but still is there any way to change it from exchange server according to current public mx record and ptr record .

If you are being rejecting because you dont have a PTR defined, then only the provider responsible for maintaining those records can make that change - or if that ability has been delegated to you. I would contact whomever is responsible - ISP or Hosting company etc...

Sonntag, 17. Juni 2012 11:57

Alle Antworten

• Hi 

If you've got a service provider or external company hosting your DNS, they should be able to add those records for you.

Freitag, 15. Juni 2012 05:43
  • Thanks for your reply , yes I can request to ISP to change it but still is there any way to change it from exchange server according to current public mx record and ptr record .

Samstag, 16. Juni 2012 06:19